• Categories

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,772 other followers

  • Meta

9 symptoms of infinite aliveness (Galatians 5.22-25)


Reality is worth dealing with, because reality is where Sarayu works.  Here in the real world, she is taking the beautiful life of Jesus and putting it inside us:

  1. Desiring good for all people
  2. Enjoying everyday life
  3. Living relaxed, ready to receive whatever the future brings
  4. Feeling happy even while we wait for what we want
  5. Treating all God’s creatures like beloved family members
  6. Giving and receiving with open hands, because our stuff doesn’t own us
  7. Doing what we say we’ll do
  8. (23) Taking care not to hurt those we are capable of hurting
  9. Behaving according to well-though-out choices, rather than according to the moment-by-moment fluctuations of brain chemistry

[The above is a commentary on Galatians 5.22-25]

5 Responses

  1. This dog picture just screamed “fruit of the Spirit!” at me, so I had to include it. Is that weird?

    • Not weird at all – my first reaction when I saw it was to laugh out loud! I don’t know why they do that, and the dogs with the biggest jowls, flapping around in the wind, seem to enjoy it the most! (I’ve tried it, and I don’t get that same sense of enjoyment).
      Works perfectly with the image of Sarayu inviting all to share in her joy of the world :o)

  2. Thank you, clunkienz, for affirming that I’m at least not the ONLY weird one. 🙂 Sometimes I wonder if animals understand God better than we do.

  3. Thanks for this. Sometimes it’s hard to recognize the spirit’s work, and so when I hear people like Mark Driscoll tell me that God hates some of us, even though I know that’s not true, I get a little doubtful. But when I read this list and compare me now to the me of 5 years ago, it’s obvious that Sarayu has been hard at work in my life.

  4. Hey moonchild! Yes, I think the work (and progress) of Sarayu is pretty undeniable. But for Driscoll’s vision of God to work, he needs to hate some people. For me, the crisis came when I discovered that if God hated *anybody*, it would have to be me. No better motivation for a theological transformation, you know?

Leave a Reply

