• Categories

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,772 other followers

  • Meta

Gal 2.17-21 – The secret of authentic living


(17) As we seek to live the good life Jesus has given to us, it quickly becomes obvious that we haven’t become perfect yet. Does that mean Jesus is to blame for our brokenness? Of course not. (18) But when I seek to heal the relationships that I myself destroyed, I reveal myself as the flawed and struggling human being I am. (19) Pious Paul died so that Real Paul could authentically live life in the fellowship of the Trinity.

Think of it this way: Jesus is the one in whom we live and move and have our being. Therefore, whatever happens to him happens to all of us. So when Jesus died, I DIED. (20) I’m not living my own life anymore. It is Jesus’ life, and he’s living it IN me and THROUGH me, and it is a life beyond anything I had ever dared to dream. The Son is faithful to Papa, always and in every way. It is by HIS faithfulness that I now live this life of adventure. I live by the faithfulness of the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. (21) THAT is the power of grace; it is the only thing that can put things right in us and in the world. If religion could have accomplished that, then Jesus wouldn’t have had to die.

Leave a Reply

